Change Is in the Wind

CaptureIt’s been a little while since I’ve mentioned IRun4Ultra on my blog or on social media, and that’s because I left my ambassadorship for the group. Without going into too much detail, I didn’t feel like my running was making an impact, and I didn’t like the way the group was run or represented. I’ve never resigned from an ambassadorship before, and I didn’t take the decision lightly, but it was something that in my heart of hearts I knew was the right thing to do for me.

Since then, I’ve joined forces with an amazing group of people to form Team Miles for Smiles via a nonprofit organization called the Snowdrop Foundation. This is their mission statement: The Snowdrop Foundation provides scholarships for college-bound pediatric cancer patients and childhood cancer survivors while raising awareness and funding for continued research to cure childhood cancer.

I’ve experienced a lot of cancer in my family. My aunt passed away from breast cancer, my grandpa passed away from lung cancer, my grandma passed away from ovarian cancer, and my dad passed away from kidney cancer. This cause is near and dear to my heart, and the folks at Snowdrop have been so incredibly responsive and informative. Oh, and professional! The way a nonprofit portrays itself is very important to me.

I love Team Miles for Smiles, because literally anyone can join. If you walk, hike, bike, run, swim, or move in any way, shape, or form, you can join! You don’t have to be an ultrarunner or go to the gym every day. You can even join with your children if you’d like! You just have to want to make a difference in the lives of cancer patients.

The Snowdrop Foundation will assign Team Miles for Smiles a child and his or her family to represent. Since we just formed as a group, it generally takes about two weeks for Snowdrop to assign a child/family to a team, and we’re waiting patiently.

In the meantime, if you’re interested in joining our team, please join our Facebook group or email us at teammiles4smiles@gmail.com. We’ve put together a preliminary team roster and are still collecting pictures to create a team collage.

xoxox,
Becky

One thought on “Change Is in the Wind

  1. Reblogged this on sisterswhoruntogether and commented:
    Becky couldn’t have said this better.
    I too am no longer with IRUN4ULTRA but that doesn’t mean I am not trying to make a difference somewhere in the world. Like Becky my sister and I both have joined forces with Snowdrop. I hope to one day make cancer something you read about it history books.
    I will write up a blog later on this but please read Becky’s and if you want to join our team, we are accepting new members till April 18th.

Leave a Reply

