I’m Dreaming of. . .

capture

an ultra marathon?! Last night as I browsed Facebook before going to bed (which is a bad habit that I need to stop!), I came across a post from a runner friend whom I greatly admire.

Ryan Goverts is an amazing runner who just completed his first 50 miler (2016 JFK 50 Miler), and he had posted about the Angela Ivory Memorial 50K (and 50 Miler) at Killen’s Pond State Park in Felton, DE on January 21, 2017. And guess what—it’s FREE.

Money’s very tight around here, and I can’t sign up for any races (and haven’t for quite some time), so that caught my eye right away. Before signing up, I made sure to ask Ryan if trying to complete the 50K but failing would look bad in the eyes of the race directors/volunteers/and racers. I didn’t want to sign up for something looking like the chump who could only run a half marathon’s distance or something on the course. I know I can do more than that, but obviously I’m not properly trained right now. He assured me that everyone seemed very nice and that I should just go for it. So, I did!

I felt like I pulled a Sue from the Runner Girls Podcast a bit (I say this in the MOST loving way, Sue!), because now I feel kind of bada** even though I haven’t run the darn thing yet. I can’t wait to hear about the Hamsterwheel ultra that you signed up for!

Thank you for letting me babble (as usual), and I can’t wait to give a race recap in January!

P.S. Are you doing the Runner’s World run streak this year? I have, and I’m posting my runs each day to my running Facebook page, Run, Becky, Run. Pleasse comment on each post to share your run streak runs too!

5 thoughts on “I’m Dreaming of. . .

      1. That is really kind of you to offer! I will have to see if I can figure out some transportation. It would be really fun to do this with you.

  1. Of course! I think this would be a really fun thing to do! My husband asked why I wanted to do such a thing at 8 a.m. during the end of January, but it’s FREE and a challenge!

Leave a Reply

