Marathon Training: Day 36

FullSizeRenderHas anyone else started using the Nike Run Club app that has replaced the Nike+ app? I like the new look of the app, but most of what I want to do isn’t working right now. I can’t add a new profile picture, I can’t see my leader board, and I can’t post my activity to the activity stream. I’m sure these are all simple glitches that can be fixed, but they’re all kind of annoying.

Today I did something epic: I freakin’ ran OUTSIDE. I haven’t run outside this entire summer. No joke. It felt amazing. Yes, it was still warm at about 75 degrees, but I’m not complaining. I ran at 11 a.m., which is earlier than I normally run, but it was conducive to my work meetings and such. I’m proud of my pace too, because it generally felt like an easy run. My heart rate was a bit higher than it should be (closer to 160 instead of the 145–150 BPM that I’m shooting for), but I’m OK with that.

I’m ashamed to say that I didn’t get up in the morning to run in NH while we visited my family this weekend. The long drive from DE to NH, coupled with the hours in the car to get to different places, just wore me out. A huge thank you goes out to my mom for getting up with the Angry Toddler each morning while we were there! And an even bigger shout out goes to my husband for driving the entire time!

Here’s a pic of the Angry Toddler and I holding my sister’s new baby boy!

13962743_10209670204372430_2686670926930143584_n

In other news, I wanted to share something with you. Meet Lucas. Lucas is five years old and lives in Alexandria, VA. He was diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD) in 2015. Lucas’ parents, Emilee and Jason, are fellow Team Momentum participants and taking on the Marine Corps Marathon 10k.

Because of funds raised from Team Momentum participants (like me), Lucas will be eligible to attend MDA Summer Camp when he is six years old! Here’s a cute video of Lucas groovin’ for us: https://www.dropbox.com/s/yco7pjddudml1nc/Lucas%20Pump.mp4?dl=0

And as always, if you’d like to donate to Team Momentum, please go here. 

Leave a Reply

