Marathon Training: Day 8

image3-300x225Today’s run was brought to you by the words hot and lack of water. 

It was 82 degrees (again) when I went out for my lunchtime run. I didn’t look at my heart rate at all, because I just wanted to plod along and see how it went. I didn’t bring my hydration pack with me, for fear I’d drink too much water like I did yesterday.

I ran up to the old high school again, and this time I saw a cat, a bird that thought it was running with me, and I tested out an old water fountain at the high school, hoping that maybe it would still be working (it wasn’t).

I’ve learned that I need Nuun (I best be able to find the cherry limeade flavor!), some more running socks, a new pair of sneakers, and to run in the goddamn morning!

If I get up at 7 a.m. on the mornings that I don’t bring the Angry Toddler to preschool (hubs and I alternate), then maybe that’ll help! It seems like it’s at least ten degrees cooler at that hour than it is mid-day (duh, Becky).

If I don’t run on the treadmill tonight, I’ll have ended the sorry month of June with 36.5 miles. If I can somehow squeeze out 3.5 miles on the treadmill once the Angry Toddler goes to bed, then I can at least hit 40 miles, which is what I did in May. That’s not a lot, at all, but it’s better than nothing, right?!

Leave a Reply

