Marathon Training: Day 7

Today’s training run was brought to you by the words hot and sun. I had the fabulous plan of going out around 2 p.m. during my lunch break, and it was about 82 degrees by then. I brought my hydration pack again, my new visor that I got for Mother’s Day, and  I listened to Another Mother Runner podcast Episode 215: Father Runner + CNN Correspondent Tom Foreman. This episode made me laugh out loud a few times as I plodded along. I took a few walk breaks to sip my water and try to bring my heart rate down. Even at a snail’s pace, my heart rate was still up much higher than it should have been. I don’t know if that has to do with the heat or maybe I started out too quickly—who knows. I also drank way too much water too quickly, because I started to get a side stitch. I have to remind myself that just because I’m not that doesn’t mean I need to chug a lot of water while out running.

Oh, hey, I completed a full week of training already! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

