Let’s Talk Elevation

Do you get nervous before races regardless of the distance? I’m irrationally nervous for the Delaware Running Festival half marathon this Sunday, May 8, 2016. I think it’s because the longest I’ve run since the Rehoboth Beach Marathon is five miles. Yep, you read that correctly. I typically run three times a week during my lunch break, so I only do two to three miles at a time either outside or on the treadmill.

Lately, I’ve been experiencing some arch pain. I saw my trusted Delaware Running Company rep who said that it could be a combination of my standing at my desk a lot recently (so I’m now back to sitting down, at least for the time being) and a lower-arch shoe. My shoes only have about 250 miles on them, so I’d hate to put them aside already, but I might have to break down and get a higher-arch shoe (perhaps going back to my trusted Brooks).

I also just looked at the elevation charts and thought it might be a good exercise to compare the Rehoboth Beach Marathon elevation chart (which didn’t seem hilly to me at all), to the Delaware Running Festival Marathon elevation chart, and then for laughs to the Marine Corps Marathon elevation chart. Here’s how they compare:

Rehoboth Beach: Oh, look. No hills. Weeeeeeee.

RB Elevation

Delaware Running Festival: This map is TINY, and I wasn’t able to zoom in at all, but I don’t like the looks of Miles 3, 6, 7, or 10. Lord help me!

DE Marathon

Marine Corps Marathon: This is much more my style! The first three miles look craptastic, but after that, it looks smooth sailing!

MCM elevation

By the way, I also wanted to add here that if anyone would like to donate to my MDA Team Momentum and Muscular Dystrophy Association toward running the 41st Marine Corps Marathon for all those who cannot, please consider checking out my donation page here: www2.mda.org/goto/beckyclayton

Leave a Reply

