Product Review: Sports Suds

IMG_2186When my pal, Kari Gormley, over at The Running Lifestyle Show first sent me a goodie bag that contained Sports Suds, I have to admit that I totally side-eyed the product. It came with a container of powder detergent and another packet of something called Sports Suds Washing Machine Cleaner. I had just gotten home from my first marathon (see my race recap here), and I felt completely overwhelmed with a ton of laundry to do, not to mention having The Angry Toddler’s third birthday party the day after. I didn’t want to dive into something new right away, so I left the two products sitting in my downstairs bathroom/laundry room for a week.

OK, wait, let’s backtrack about a year ago to when I finally considered my small arsenal of running apparel and accessories worthy of something “better” than you run-of-the-mill laundry detergent. I obsessively read enough running Facebook pages and blogs to realize that maybe I should start taking better care of my pricey garb. When I mentioned this to my husband, he also gave me the side eye. What could be that special to warrant paying extra money to wash my extra stinky running stuff?

I thought I’d dip my toes in gently at first, so I bought Tide Plus Febreze Freshener Sport liquid laundry detergent. I used the entire container that I bought, but I didn’t feel that it got my running clothes any cleaner or kept them in any better condition than my previous nondescript laundry detergent.

And although I hate math, I thought I’d crunch some numbers. Tide Sport touts that you can get 36 loads out of 69 ounces (liquid), while Sports Suds claims to get 140 loads out of about 63 ounces (granular solid).  That particular Tide container costs around $16, and Sports Suds rings in at close to $60. That’s a huge price differential, but you can get over three times the amount of washes out of the same volume with Sports Suds versus Tide.

I haven’t tested this theory out fully yet in terms of number of loads per container, since I just started using Sports Suds this month, but I will tell you this. After I got over the initial ick-factor of cleaning my washing machine with a product before use and actually sat down to read the literature on the Sports Suds site, I really warmed up to the product.

According to the site, the washing machine cleaner, “loosens soap scum, mineral deposits, foreign debris and other growth and washes them away. It’s unique fragrance-free formulation cleans effectively and removes odor causing materials at their source without the need to resort to perfume to mask remaining odors.” I inherited my washing machine from an older couple when we bought our house, so I kind of liked the idea of cleaning my machine every once in awhile. What could it hurt, right?

And I have to say, my clothes are softer and have no odor whatsoever, which pleasantly surprised me. I didn’t know what to expect (frankly, I didn’t expect much), and I like knowing that this product is safe for my family to use. The Angry Toddler and I have sensitive skin, so this product really appeals to me for that reason as well.

Want to try this product for yourself? Listeners of The Running Lifestyle Show (TRLS) get 25 percent off by entering code RUNLIFE at checkout on the Sports Suds site. Run over there today to get the stink away!

And if you’re curious about other TRLS Sports Suds reviews, go here.

Note: I was given Sports Suds to review, so I did not buy the product personally.

Leave a Reply

