Product Review: Pro-Tech Athletics Hollow Core Contoured Foam Roller

AnoIMG_2187ther product in my The Running Lifestyle Show goodie bag happened to be this Pro-Tech Athletics Hollow Core Contoured Foam Roller. I already own the Trigger Point GRID Foam Roller, which I use religiously, so I was curious to see how this product stacked up against my current love.

Both are the same size—5.5″D x 13″L—and both feel the same to me in terms of firmness and cushion. The Pro-Tech Athletics roller costs $37.95, while the Trigger Point roller costs $39.99, so both are similar in price as well. (Although I love finding deals, so I suggest the cheaper of the two!)

I tend to need to foam roll my left hip flexor after each run, since I get chronic hip pain if I don’t. I never really took foam rolling seriously until just before marathon training, when I found that my left hip flexor pain was increasing (since I was increasing my mileage each week). I find that I don’t need to foam roll for that long after each run, but I need to do it consistently if I want the pain to abate. So if you’re a runner, or really any athlete, please do yourself a favor and invest in a good foam roller.

I love the size of this foam roller, because it’s short enough to pack in a duffel bag or to throw in your car without taking up too much space.

And as it happens, I just found a new technique video that I’d like to share here. It requires two foam rollers, so it’s perfect for someone like me who now has two.

I give the Pro-Tech Athletics Hollow Core Contoured Foam Roller two thumbs up!

Note: I was given the Pro-Tech Athletics Hollow Core Contoured Foam Roller to review, so I did not buy the product personally.

Leave a Reply

