You want a what?

At some point as a family, we’d love to own a dog. However, just recently, I learned that I’m allergic to dogs. So I’ve been on the hunt for a hypoallergenic breed that can also handle running, because I’d love a new running buddy!

So far, I’ve come up with three breeds that seem to fit the bill.

Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier dog breed1.) Wheaton terrier: “The Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier is a great dog for hiking, traveling, jogging or just going for a walk around the park,” says TerrificPets.com. “Without regular exercise the Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier can become somewhat jumpy and hyperactive although this is relatively uncommon. The breed can be kept in a kennel for brief periods of time if necessary but is typically well behaved when left alone in the house after they have been fully trained.”

StandardPoodlePurebredDogBunker12YearsOldBiColorPartiColor7

2.) Standard poodle: According to DogBreedInfo.com, the standard poodle thrives on exercise (at least daily walks). “The Standard retains its sporting instincts, has great stamina, and needs more activity than the smaller varieties.”

 

 

 

Brock n Riker 6 2011 cropped LR border3. Vizsla: “Vizslas are great running partners! They are built for running and being active. But I paid attention to the vet’s recommendations, and held off running with Captain til he was about a year old,” says vizslathing.blogspot.com/.

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

Happy running,

Becky

 

 

6 thoughts on “You want a what?

  1. I had a rescue Wheaten Terrier for a while (my ex took him when we split up). He was a sweetheart! He was very bright and playful but not overwhelming or obnoxious. He was terrified of thunderstorms and fireworks and would insist on being ON my lap, panting and drooling. (I’m guessing maybe this is something that came from a bad experience before we adopted him.) As he’s gotten older, he’s also had some skin problems (allergies, maybe?) I know my ex said he had to bathe him with special medicine regularly otherwise he got smelly and itchy. I’m not sure if that MIGHT be a semi-common breed issue or not. I would certainly adopt another one in a heartbeat though. They really are very gentle family-friendly dogs.

    1. Thank you for your reply, Mandi! Before we actually get a dog (probably after Baby #2 sometime in 2015?), I’d definitely look into the skin condition that you’re talking about. I’ve never heard that before. You never know what their background is if you adopt, but of course we’re all willing to take the chance, right? 🙂

  2. I LOVE Vizlas! They are great family dogs, wonderfully rounded personalities and defintiely have the energy and stamina to handle running a few miles a day.

      1. If you put them through obedience training, no, I don’t believe so. I’ve only met a handful, but only one of them was crazy jumping and such. They are definitely dogs though that need to be able to run off some energy every day. They are not “once a week walk” dogs, they’re more like “break once a week” dogs.

        You can also see about a Vizsla rescue and be able to get an older, more calm dog instead of starting off with a puppy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

