Hey, Bursa!

Oh goodness. I haven’t written a new blog post in quite some time, huh? I feel like my running lately has been mediocre at best. I kicked off June with a low-grade fever, nasal congestion, and all-around yuckyness that lasted at least four days. So I took those as “rest days,” (grumble), and now I’m back at it. I had a long run planned for this past Sunday, but I started out way too late (at 10 a.m.) and it was hellishly hot, sunny, and humid. I could only manage a 5K. I should still be on track to reach 90+ miles in June, but I’m feeling a little discouraged.

I’m also experiencing some left foot pain right where my toes meet my foot. So like any novice, I turned to Mr. Google. Hmph. My Brooks have around 220 miles on them, so in theory my shoes should be OK. Sigh.

Description:
Pain under your three small toes. If you press with your fingers between the toes and balls of your feet, you feel pain.

Likely causes:
Too much pounding. You’re probably coming down too hard on this area of your foot when you run. As a result bursitis may have developed, with your foot building a cushion called a bursa to protect the area. The pain you feel is the bursa getting irritated.

My poor bursa.

I guess in other, good news, I’m getting married on June 16! My plan this week is to run four times before then. I just want to keep my mileage steady. Slow and steady, right? RIGHT?!

6 thoughts on “Hey, Bursa!

  1. Sorry about your foot pain but CONGRATULATIONS on your upcoming wedding! 90 miles for June is a good goal. I am targeting #100JuneMiles Challenge and not sure I’ll make it. Good luck and get that foot well.

    1. Thank you so much!! I tried to get to 100 miles in May, but only made it to 90, so I’m trying to stick to 90 this month as well, and I’ll be pleasantly surprised if I make it to 100! πŸ™‚ Good luck on your goal; you’re going to rock it!

Leave a Reply

