13.1-Miler Recap and the Monday Blues

How do you deal with stress? I used to be a huge emotional eater (and still am, but I’ve reined that in a bit), but now I run instead. I made the mistake of not running during my lunch break today to ease my mind. I took a nap, which was nice because I had to get up earlier than usual this morning, but now I feel the itch to run. I feel like Bartleby does in the picture below. Can I end this day and just hide? I’m feeling overwhelmed at work (although I have great managers who help prioritize my hefty workload right now) and financially. There’s nothing I can do about both things at the moment, but my mind races in fifty different directions sometimes—I almost feel manic.

005I ran 13.1 miles on Saturday morning. I was worried about eating breakfast at 7 and then running at 8 (read: side-stitch fears), but I was fine nearly the entire time. I had peanut butter toast, a banana, and my protein coffee. I didn’t drink any water beforehand, which might explain why I was so thirsty throughout the run. I drank over 60 ounces of water and had to stop twice to refill my FuelBelt. I stopped once at a Subway to buy water and then a second time at a blood bank along my route. I realized how much I think I’ll love running in the early morning when there aren’t so many cars out so I can run on the road instead of the painfully uneven sidewalks. (Maybe that equals less falling?) Overall my pace was under 12-minute miles, which is just fine by me for a long run. My goal for my first half is to come in at 2 hours, 30 minutes, which I think I can do. After my run, I knew I had enough energy to keep going if I had the time, so now all I can think about is registering for a full soon. Money-wise I can’t swing it, so I’ll just have to daydream, but it’s on my To Do list! (Below is a shot of my HipS-sister full of Gu before my run.)

005

Happy Monday,

Becky

 

6 thoughts on “13.1-Miler Recap and the Monday Blues

  1. I ended up buying the HipS-sister as well! While it does tend to ride up on me depending on what pants I am wearing to run, I really do like the simplicity of it. I plan on jamming some jelly beans, my phone and key in it for my half!

    • I’m glad you like it! I don’t notice mine riding up at all, but I’m sure I have more to hold it down (as in fat plus contents) than you do haha. I’m still loving your jelly bean idea! I really need to try that. 🙂

      • It only seems to do it if I wear real slick pants. Like some of my Under Armor pants are super slick but some of my other pants are a rougher material and that holds it down more!

        You should try them! Jelly Belly makes these jelly beans called Sports Beans, they sell them at our running store. The Fruit Punch and Grape are my favorite!

  2. Congrats on a great run! I love that about early morning runs too. The times I’ve bitten it were always because of uneven sidewalk. I prefer the street. 🙂

    I think you are going to be GREAT in your half!!

Leave a Reply

